Jesus is Sufficient, Travel Light

 

Good Afternoon, Its been a while since I have posted, sorry for the absence.  I wanted just to share some notes I took during a sermon I heard a couple of weeks ago.  There are many references to Jesus commissioning his followers to respond to His invitation to share His teachings.  Jesus’s invitations are often, subtle, and to the point.  His challenge for His followers was simple “GO,” with one prerequisite in mind, “Do not carry any thing with you.”  Once i thought about, why the challenge to take nothing with you, it then made since.  If I carried a necessity with me, it might become a crutch, something to depend on, or a comfort to lean on, instead of trusting in  the full sufficiency of Jesus and his directive.  The sufficiency of Jesus  will fill anything, we allow him to occupy.  I once heard a preacher say, Whatever you give the Lord, he will fill it.  If you give him five minutes, he will fill it, If you give him five hours, or five months he will fill it, because his sufficiency is enough.  Read Luke 12 v 22 – 34.        2 Corinthians 12:9 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.  2 Cor. 12 v. 9  – N.I.V.
Luke 9 v 1 – 6 Jesus sent out the disciples to preach the Kingdom.

Luke 22 v 35 – 38 :  Overview -The Lord sent out his guys and when they looked back to reflect, they lacked nothing

2 Peter 1 v 3 : According to His divine power hath given us all things that pertain unto life and godliness, through the knowledge of him that hath called us to glory and virtue.  K.J.V.

Luke 10 v 1 – 12 : Overview-  Jesus sent out 70 people, same initiative to the 70, take nothing with you, just go.

Are we able to be interrupted?  Or do we stage a revolt, and say this is my space, time, stuff, don’t interrupt my…. 

Luke 9 v 51 – 56 : The Samaritans didn’t receive the 12.  Jesus reminds the 12 of their mission.

The sea of Galilee and the Dead Sea, are two bodies of water that relate to Israel.  One is vibrant and alive, and one is dead.  The difference is one has water coming in, and going out.  The Dead Seas has only water coming in, without on outlet.  Its is dead.  We need to be an outlet for Jesus, and we will be more alive than ever before.  Don’t allow the things of this world, that you claim, as owner of,  interfere with the places Jesus wants you to travel to.  Travel Light, Jesus is all you Need.

Have a blessed Week.  Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

