Reflection – Who Do We See?

Have you been in the gym lately?  Well, I can’t say that i have, lately, in which i have good excuses, really i do?  Now it seems like something important always steps in front of my intentions of going to the gym to work out, especially in the warmer months of the year.  I am usually one of the many dedicated new years revolutionist headed there on January 2nd. of any year, and I’m lucky to make it past March.   With that being said, I remember some years ago I had visited a gym that I use to exercise at, years prior, and as I was walking across the weight room area, I looked into the mirror, that same mirror,  I looked at years ago and I saw a different person than I was accustomed to looking at from times past.  I was a few pounds lighter, and a few wrinkles less in my face the last time I saw my reflection in these mirrors.  Its funny I see the same person every day, as I look into  the mirror at home, but looking into the mirror of a place that I haven’t seen in years produced a change.

Reflections, often remind me of what gets our attention.  In the fire service we have turn out gear that has refection tape on our coat and pants.  When we test fire hydrants we wear a reflector vest.  The fire truck has reflector tape that corresponds with the paint on all four sides of the truck.   These reflectors remind people that we are there.  When its dark outside and lights shine on these reflectors, it reminds people that someone or some object is there.

Jesus said that we are the light of the world, a city set on a hill.  Most city’s that are on a hill or mountain can be seen at night for many miles.  We should be the same way.  We should be reflecting the light of Jesus for everyone to see.  When we read the Bible we should reflect what we have absorbed for others to see.  We need more reflectors in the world today, not judges.  When someone falls into sin or make a mistake, we often judge them by our standards.  We to often should judge less and reflect more.  More of Jesus.

Matthew 5 :13You are the salt of the earth. But if the salt loses its savor, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled by men. 14You are the light of the world. A city on a hill cannot be hidden. 15Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a basket. Instead, they set it on a lampstand, and it gives light to everyone in the house.…

Have a Great Week!!!  Reflect Jesus!!!

Leave a Reply

