Memorial Day 2014

image6.jpg

Good Morning.  I want to take this time to thank all Veterans for your service to our country.  Thank you for making freedom possible to all Americans.  There is an honor, just to be able to serve our community in the fire service.  I have a feeling, it’s the most of the honors, to have served our Country in the military to some capacity.  Again my humble thank you for serving.  Thank you, to all who gave their lives, for our Country, and for their families that remain, on this Memorial Day.

I got on the web site of the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, just to get a bit of history about Memorial day.  According to the site, Three years after the Civil War ended on May 5th 1868, the head of an organization of Union veterans established “Decoration Day,” as a time for the nation to decorate the graves of the war dead with flowers.  The date was later changed to May 30th because possibly a later spring day would allow the flowers to be in full bloom.  The first large observance was held at Arlington National Cemetery across the Potomac River from Washington D.C.

Today  cities in the North and the South claim to be the birthplace of Memorial day.  Macon and Columbus Ga. as well as Richmond Va. to name a few.  The official birthplace was declared in 1966.  Congress and President Lyndon Johnson declared Waterloo, N.Y. the “birthplace of Memorial Day.”  It wasn’t to after W.W.I that Memorial day was expanded to all those who have died in all American wars.  In 1971 Memorial Day was declared a National Holiday in was placed on the last Monday in May.

application : Thinking about Memorial day, brings to mind my former neighbor, who has gone on to be with the Lord, Mr. Sanford.  I use to mow Mr. Sanford’s yard and we would  aways sit and talk on his back porch after the work was done.  I remember one day in particular, He mentioned his grandfather to me.  He said “I remember when i was just a boy my grandfather would take me  to Stones River battlefield to a Civil War Veterans Reunion.”  “Veterans from the Union and the Confederate army would met and remonence.”  “I can tell you, I’ll never forget, the  men weeping at that event as they hugged one another.”  That day was special to me, because it connected me to someone who knew someone who was in the Civil War.  I’ll never forget Mr. Sanford, and his testimony that day on his back porch. Mr. Sanford since then, has gone onto be with the Lord.  Thank you, to the late, Mr. Sanford, for sharing.

Here in Murfreesboro “The Healing Field,” a field of American Flags wave proudly in air, as loved ones of the departed can purchase flags in their honor and is raised along with hundreds of others in remembrance of their service to our country.  Several years ago I purchased one, in remembrance of my father who was in the Army National guard.  A short history of his service, was written on a card and was secured to the flag pole for all to read.  At the flag site you can canvas the field and read other card and see Photo’s attached to the flag representing their service.  It is a very humbling place to attend.  I encourage all to visit the “Healing Field,” at 3045 Memorial Blvd next to Family Worship Center, across from Wilson Bank and Trust.  For more info search www.healingfield.org/murfreesboro/ .  After the conclusion of the event the flag that i had purchased was mailed to my home for me to keep.  The Healing Field is sponsored by the Noon Exchange Club.

May God Bless you and your family, and May God Bless America, on this Memorial Day 2014.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

