“Who is holding you?”

image6.jpg

One of my morning rituals, consist taking the dog out to pottie.  The dog usually, about 5:30ish, takes his front paws and pushes the bedroom door, making a knocking sound, that usually wakes me and the Mrs’s up, and I have the duties of taking out the dog.  I pick up the dog and carry him to the chain in the yard for his early morning pottie break.  Note: if I don’t pick him up, he will run after the neighbors cat, that is usually in our yard.    A couple of days ago as I picked him up and opened the door and stepped off the first step onto the second step, my foot slipped and I slip off the steps onto the patio, landing hard on my feet.  I noticed that as I was sliding to a possible fall, I held the dog tighter against my chest as I realized I was falling.  It reminded me of a running back carrying a football, the more the defense tries to attack, the tighter the runner holds onto the ball.  I Landed on my feet, the dog never noticed anything wrong.  I took the blunt of the blow.  I was the cushion, the buffer, I was holding the helpless pup, protecting him from outside influences, he didn’t know existed.

About a month ago, my crew helped deliver a baby.  I was on the med unit that morning doing my 8 hour ride along.  We happen to arrive at the same home.  Another med unit was there, it was at shift change, so we were going to relieve that crew.  As we got out of the car and walked up the driveway, one of the medics on the scene came walking out of the home with a blanket tightly wrapped around a baby.  I noticed how the medics arms were completly around the baby.  The baby didn’t know it, but he was completely protected from the cold of that morning. The blanket was around the childs head, so the sun’s beams could not harm the infants eyes.  Totally secure.

That morning I realized something.  God is holding me!  Not because I deserve it, but because I belong to him.  I know Him, and he knows me.  God takes the blunt of my stress, daily.  God carries me, and at times, I know, God has carried me during times of intense trials and testings.  I have fallen many times in life.  God has always cushioned the blow.  He has held me tight many times during my lifetime.  I can’t help but remember the verse in the Gospel of John, Jesus tells us that if we are in Gods hand that no one can remove us from his hands.  The KJV says no one can “pluck” us from his hand.         John 10 :27 My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me:  28 And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand.  29 My Father, which gave them me, is greater than all; and no man is able to pluck them out of my Father’s hand.  30 I and my Father are one.  (KJV)

That is so comforting to know, that my Gods hands are securly holding me, and protecting me.  Are you secure with God?  If the winds of change blow upon you tomorrow, can you navigate thru on your own power or your own strength?  Our human strength is temporary.  We are only as strong as the one holding on to us.

Is God holding on to you?

Have a good day!

Leave a Reply

