“Friction Loss”

 

Life is a big subject.  You can go many ways and different avenues with the subject of life.  Often I think of the good things about life, my family, my church, my career, my friends, and list goes on.  Thinking on the good things, sometimes we have to go through some bad stuff, in order to see the good.  When I think of the good things in life, I can appreciate the bad also.  You might say “what do you mean?”  I think that the Lord sometimes allows the bad stuff  to come our way to bring us to a place of total dependence on Him.  There are many examples of this in the Bible.  I think about Noah.  Genesis chapter 6 we find the world full of wickedness, as is today.  Genesis 6 : 5 (NIV) – The Lord saw how great wickedness of the human race had become on the earth and that every inclination of the thoughts of the human heart was only evil all the time. (7)So the Lord said, “I will wipe from the face of the earth the human race I have created-and with the animals, the birds and the creatures that move along the ground-for I regret I have made them.  (8)But Noah found favor in the eyes of the Lord.  (9) This is the account of Noah and his family.  Noah was a righteous man, blameless among the people of his time, and he walked faithfully with God.  (11)Now the earth was corrupt in God’s sight and was full of violence.  (12)God saw how corrupt the earth had become, for all the people on earth had corrupted their ways.  (13)So God said to Noah, “I am going to put an end to all people, for the earth is filled with violence because of them.  I am surely going to destroy both them and the earth.  (14)So make yourself an ark….  verses 16 thru 22 God gives Noah the exact dimensions for building the ark.  When God ask us to do work, He will equip us for the task.

Application:  We face challenges each day in our walk with the Lord.  Personal “friction” that can either drive us to the Lord or it the push us away from the Lord.  Pump operators should know the basics about friction loss and flowing water.  Friction Loss is the force that hinders the water from delivered to its destination. When figuring, what pressure do I have to pump to get the right amount of water needed to sufficiently put water on the fire.  We have to know about “Friction Loss.”  We have to consider the diameter of the hose, what type of nozzle is at the end of the hose, the length of the hose line, the appliance, if flowing from a deluge gun, what floor is the fire on, if in a high rise building, and elevation.  All these things have to be considered when flowing water, to put a fire out.  With friction loss in account, we can add more pressure to the hose line to over come the loss due to friction.

Life Practice:  Friction is always going to be part of life on planet earth.  We need to seek the right tools to help us over come the friction.  I’ve been reading a book about Prayer, along with several other of my friends and its been a delight.  It describes trouble, (friction) as part of Gods plan to draw us closer to him. The writer says that “Trouble is a friend of God.”  I think again of Noah and the challenges he must have faced.  He didn’t have the luxury of reading a book on “trouble,” or seek counseling from his pastor and friends.  Just think about it, the earth was full of evil and God was tired of it.  Think about as Noah was building the Ark, the opposition he must have faced, the laughing, the ridicule, the “friction loss,”  if you will.  Noah might have lost some friends during his building for God, he might have lost some sleep from being concerned what his neighbors were saying about him.  Noah might even had to  convince his family, during the difficult times of the building that God is in this.  Just think about it, God told Noah to build a boat on dry land, and it had never rained on the earth.  The earth received water from the due of the ground.  I can see people talking about how crazy this notion of building a boat was.  Noah had a lot of friction, I’m afraid, because of Gods agenda.  God’s agenda can be painful in the moment, but the outcome will the fruits of our labor.   Noah applied what God said and initiated faith, and he believed what God had said.  I think one of the saddest verses of the bible is Genesis 7v16 – Then the Lord shut the door.   All the people who laughed at Noah, were not laughing any more.  They were probably pleading for Noah to open the door, even if Noah wanted to open the door,  God had shut the door.  It was final.    My prayer is that you will allow Jesus to be the Lord of your life.  Don’t allow the “friction loss,” to push you away from God, but allow it to open a door to the Lord.  God has a plan for your life!  Don’t miss the opportunity of a life time.  When the trouble comes, and it will.  Submit totaling to the hand of God and he will see you through it.  You might be ridiculed or even laughed at as Noah, but allow your faith to be cultivated by the friction.  Give more of your time to God, and the friction will seem less as powerful with God working with you through it.   

Friction Loss – Its part of our profession to now how to over come it when pumping water.  I had a laminated sheet of paper with formulas on it when I was a driver to help me when I was challenged with problem.  I’ll be glad to make a copy for you if you need one.  Also, I keep the bible with me, just in case a problem arises and need God’s notes to help me overcome a life probem.             I pray this narrative will help someone who is facing unwanted friction in their life today.        

                                                                           God Bless you and have a great day!     

Leave a Reply

