Pass Me Not

In a world filled with “I want to be first” attitude, first in line at the church dinner, first to get out of church to get to the favorite restaurant,  first to get to the T.V. remote, first to get tickets to a ball game, first to get out of the movie theater.  First to get a bonus at work.  First to get in the shower on Sunday when others have to take a shower.  Don’t want to be the first to run out of hot water!  You have to agree there are a lot of “I want to Be first in life.”  As I think about being first, I think about the old hymn “Pass Me Not, O Gentle Savior, hear my humble cry, do not pass me by.”  As I think about this song, I wonder, if Jesus is passing by, and I wonder, just wonder if he is trying to get our attention in America, in this fast paced, me first world.  The Old Testament book of Amos 7 v. 8 says –  And the Lord said to me, “Amos, what do you see?” And I said, “A plumb line.” Then the Lord said: “Behold, I am setting a plumb line In the midst of My people Israel; I will not pass by them anymore.  Part of Gods judgment on Israel in this passage, was going to allow them to step out, in there me first, and God second attitude.  In my life, I don’t want to step out of Gods reach.   May my heart be continually saying “Pass Me Not O Gentle Savior.”  Pass me not.  I think about the woman with the blood issue.  As Jesus was passing by she reached for the hymn of His garment, and Jesus said “Who touched me?   Matthew 9 v 20-22  And a woman who had been suffering from a hemorrhage for twelve years came up behind Him and touched the fringe of His cloak; 21 for she was saying to herself, “If I only touch His garment, I will get well.” 22 But Jesus turning and seeing her said, “Daughter, take courage; your faith has made you well.” At once the woman was made well. (NASB)  The woman who had this problem, knew that she had to get Jesus’s attention because He was passing thru.   As Jesus and His disciples were walking near the woman, she reached and  touched, just a piece of his clothing , hoping that Jesus maybe, will notice my need.  Jesus did just that,  He turned to her and met her need of healing.  America, Jesus is passing by, reach for His power for your life.

Pass Me Not, O Gentle Savior –

  • Pass me not, O gentle Savior, Hear my humble cry; While on others Thou art calling, Do not pass me by.
    • chorus: Savior, Savior, Hear my humble cry, While on others Thou art calling, Do not pass me by.
  • Let me at Thy throne of mercy Find a sweet relief; Kneeling there in deep contrition, Help my unbelief.
  • Trusting only in Thy merit, Would I seek Thy face; Heal my wounded, broken spirit, Save me by Thy grace.
  • Thou the spring of all my comfort, More than life to me, Whom have I on earth beside Thee, Whom in Heav’n but Thee.
